The Brands cognac and armagnac
Ambiance Martell   logo Martell

Made with passion using traditional methods in Eauze, capital of armagnac, Marquis de Montesquiou offers an association of eaux de vie with exceptionally rich gustatory qualities, releasing fruity aromas of vanilla, cocoa and honey. With their fine copper colour, these prestige vintages are the perfect embodiment of all the know-how of the local craftsmen of Gascony.

Marquis de Montesquiou XO Impérial

Bouteille Marquis de Montesquiou X0 impérial

An exclusive blend
Produced from the best Ugni-Blanc vineyards, Marquis de Montesquiou Imperial XO has a fine copper colour and persistent roundness on the palate. This generous armagnac, with notes of fruit, cinnamon and vanilla, reveals an aromatic power on drinking that is extremely sought after by connoisseurs

Marquis de Montesquiou 21 Year old "Hors d'âge"

Bouteille Marquis de Montesquiou hors d'âge 21 Year old

A true privilege
An Armagnac of unique quality, Marquis de Montesquiou 21 Year Old "Hors d'âge" is the fruit of a skilful blending of precious eaux de vie, the oldest of which, distilled in 1904, has been in existence for over a century! A mature and balanced vintage par excellence, its personality is an undisputed success with the most demanding tasters: to be kept for very special occasions.

Marquis de Montesquiou 1967 Vintage

Bouteille Marquis de Montesquiou Millésime 1967

The exceptional vintage
Incomparable "cuvées", with flavours of prunes, exotic wood and pink, the Marquis de Montesquiou vintages are produced using the best grape varieties from the Bas-Armagnac region of France. Bottled at their natural degree of reduction, these perfectly balanced amber-coloured armagnacs, both full and generous, are unstinting in revealing their exceptional character.

A Gascon passion

The Montesquious are a very old noble family - their name appears in records from the 11th century.
Its many illustrious members include Count d'Artagnan, musketeer to King Louis XIII and hero of Alexandre Dumas' famous novel "The Three Musketeers". D'Artagnan lived in the château of Castelmore, near Lupiac, in South-West France; the Marquis de Montesquiou family members are his direct descendants
At the crossroads of the history of France and Gascony, the house of Marquis de Montesquiou has been established for many generations in Eauze, capital of armagnac, in the Gers region of France.

The strength of tradition

Marquis de Montesquiou mainly uses brandies produced from Ugni-Blanc, Folle Blanche and Colombard grapes.

Distillation takes place in continuous armagnac stills: these pure copper stills distil the wine in a single pass. On output from the still, the eau de vie is colourless and extremely aromatic, with a very high alcohol content: between 52 and 60°.

The eau de vie is aged in oak casks with a capacity of 400 litres. Over 1,800 barrels are stored in an immense cellar, affectionately known as "the Cathedral". During the ageing phase, the alcohol evaporates at a rate of 2 to 3% per annum: the vapours released in the barrels are poetically known as "the angels' share". Over time, the eau de vie gradually acquires a beautiful amber colour, then dominant mahogany shades. The flavours gradually develop by absorbing the wood tannins, thanks to the phenomenon of oxidation.

Blending is entrusted to the Marquis de Montesquiou cellar master, who selects the different eaux de vie and marries them carefully. To achieve the minimum degree for consumption, he proceeds by gradually adding "petites eaux", a mixture of distilled water and armagnac.

Each "cuvée" therefore becomes a unique association of a variety of cross sections of ages and places of origin.

Every year, Marquis de Montesquiou wins prestigious awards in the Salon Agricole in Paris and the Foire aux Armagnacs in Eauze.

An armagnac full of character, Marquis de Montesquiou is best served at the end of meals, at the same time as the cheeses, or as a digestif. For discovery as an aperitif, XO is the most highly recommended "cru" of the Marquis de Montesquiou
In order to enjoy all the flavours of the armagnac, it is better to choose a narrow glass or tulip shaped glass, for perfect concentration of the aromas


  • Marquis de Montesquiou XO Imperial
    Appearance: A fine amber colour with coppery tints.
    Nose: A rich variety of fruity aromas, with hints of spice (cinnamon) and vanilla.
    Taste: Plenty of body, with fine woody notes and a hint of vanilla. All the notes blend into a harmonious whole, with long persistency in the mouth. A very fine finish


  • Marquis de Montesquiou 21 Year old "Hors d'âge"
    Appearance: A fine brown colour with coppery tints.
    Nose: A distinguished woody flavour, animal and floral aromas, with a slight hint of pear.
    Taste: Good texture in the mouth, without being aggressive. Good balance between a dominant flavour of vanilla and a very definite fruity flavour. Pleasant final bouquet, without bitterness. Long in the mouth.

  • Marquis de Montesquiou 1967 Vintage
    Fine coppery tints, delicate aromas of vanilla and woodland as a result of ageing in the best oak barrels in the region. A very robust, masculine mouth, with notes of plum and leather.


  • Buy on
    Click here

English Version
 
Les marques - champagne
Ambiance Martell   logo Martell

Elaboré avec passion selon les méthodes traditionnelles à Eauze, capitale de l’armagnac, Marquis de Montesquiou propose une association d’eaux de vie d’une exceptionnelle richesse gustative, libérant des parfums fruités de vanille, de cacao et de miel. Dotées d’une belle robe cuivrée, ces cuvées de prestige incarnent à la perfection tout le savoir faire des hommes du pays gascon.

Marquis de Montesquiou XO Impérial

Bouteille Marquis de Montesquiou X0 impérial

Un assemblage exclusif

Issu des meilleures parcelles du cépage d’Ugni-Blanc, Marquis de Montesquiou XO Impérial offre au regard une robe cuivrée et en bouche une belle rondeur persistante. Cet armagnac généreux aux saveurs de fruits, de cannelle et de vanille révèle à la dégustation une puissance aromatique extrêmement recherchée par les amateurs.

Marquis de Montesquiou Hors d'âge 21 ans

Bouteille Marquis de Montesquiou hors d'âge 21 ans

Un vrai privilège

Armagnac de qualité unique, Marquis de Montesquiou Hors d’âge 21 ans est le fruit d’un savant assemblage d’eaux de vie précieuses, dont la plus ancienne, distillée en 1904, possède plus d’un siècle d’existence ! Cuvée mature et équilibrée par excellence, sa personnalité rencontre un succès incontesté chez les plus exigeants : à réserver aux occasions privilégiées.

Marquis de Montesquiou Millésime 1967

Bouteille Marquis de Montesquiou Millésime 1967

L’exception millésimée

Cuvées incomparables aux arômes de pruneaux, de bois exotique et de rose, les millésimes Marquis de Montesquiou sont l’œuvre des meilleurs cépages du Bas-Armagnac. Embouteillés à leur degré naturel de réduction, ces armagnacs ambrés à l’équilibre parfait, à la fois ample et généreux, affichent sans réserve leur caractère d’exception.

Une passion gasconne 

De très vieille noblesse, la famille de Montesquiou apparaît en France dès le 11e siècle.

Parmi ses membres illustres figure en première place le comte d’Artagnan, mousquetaire du roi Louis XIII et héros du célèbre roman d’Alexandre Dumas « Les Trois Mousquetaires ». D’Artagnan vécut au château de Castelmore, près de Lupiac, dans le Sud-Ouest de la France ; les marquis de Montesquiou en sont les descendants directs.

A la croisée de l’histoire de France et de Gascogne, la maison des marquis de Montesquiou est installée depuis des générations à Eauze, capitale de l’armagnac, dans le Gers.
La force de la tradition

Marquis de Montesquiou utilise principalement les eaux de vies issues des cépages de l’Ugni-Blanc, de la Folle Blanche et du Colombard.

La distillation s’effectue dans des alambics continus armagnacais : des appareils de cuivre pur qui distillent le vin en un seul passage. Au sortir de l’alambic, l’eau de vie est incolore, dotée d’une grande richesse aromatique et d’un très fort degré alcoolique : entre 52 et 60°.

La maturation de l’eau de vie s’opère dans des fûts de chêne d’une contenance de 400 litres. Plus de 1800 tonneaux sont ainsi entreposés dans un immense chai, surnommé « la Cathédrale ». Pendant la phase de vieillissement, l’alcool s’évapore de 2 à 3% par an : les vapeurs qui se dégagent dans les tonneaux sont appelées de façon poétique « la part des anges ». Au fil du temps, l’eau de vie acquiert progressivement une belle couleur ambrée puis des teintes dominantes acajou. Quant aux arômes, ils se chargent peu à peu des composés tanniques du bois, grâce à un phénomène d’oxydation.

L’assemblage est confié au maître de chai de la maison Marquis de Montesquiou, qui sélectionne et marie les différentes eaux de vie. Pour atteindre le degré minimum de consommation, il procède à l’addition progressive de « petites eaux », un mélange d’eau distillée et d’armagnac.
Chaque cuvée devient ainsi une association unique de coupes d’âges et de provenance variés.

Tous les ans, Marquis de Montesquiou reçoit de prestigieuses distinctions du Salon Agricole de Paris et de la Foire aux Armagnacs d’Eauze.
Armagnac de caractère, Marquis de Montesquiou se déguste de préférence à la fin du repas, en même temps que les fromages, ou en digestif. Pour une découverte à l’apéritif, XO est le cru le plus recommandé de la gamme Marquis de Montesquiou.

Afin de profiter de toutes les saveurs de l’armagnac, mieux vaut choisir un verre étroit ou en forme de tulipe, qui concentrent parfaitement les arômes.

  • Marquis de Montesquiou XO Impérial
    À l'œil : Une belle robe ambré avec des reflets cuivrés.
    Au nez : Une riche palette d'arômes fruités, des notes d'épices (cannelles) et vanille.
    En bouche : Beaucoup de corps, avec un beau boisé légèrement vanillé. Toutes les notes se fondent en un ensemble harmonieux, qui offre une longue persistance en bouche. Une très belle finale.


  • Marquis de Montesquiou Hors d'âge 21 ans
    À l'œil : Une belle robe brune avec des reflets carmin.
    Au nez : Un parfum racé de bois, senteurs animales et fleuries, avec une légère note de poire .
    En bouche : Bonne texture en bouche sans être agressive. Bon équilibre entre une saveur dominante de vanille et une saveur fruitée très franche. Bouquet final agréable sans amertume. Long en bouche.

  • Marquis de Montesquiou Millésime 1967
    De beaux reflets cuivrés, de délicates senteurs de vanille et sous-bois provenant d'un élevage dans les meilleurs fûts de chêne de la région. Une bouche très charpentée, masculine, avec des notes de prune et de cuir.


  • Nos emballages peuvent faire l'objet d'une consigne de tri, pour en savoir plus : www.consignesdetri.fr